Google+

Homemade Pizza Dough

23

March 5, 2013 by Casey

I have been making my own dough on and off for years. It is really simple after you get the hang of it and quite cost effective. Currently I make enough for 4 pizza’s which lasts us a month. It freezes easily and as long as I put it in the fridge before I leave for work in the morning it is ready to go when I get home for dinner. My current recipe is adapted from Marcella Hazan’s Essentials of Italian Cooking. If you have never checked out that book, she is basically the Italian Julia Child and I recommend taking a look immediately. It is a great starting point for cooking Italian as it has all the classics and I find it fun to adapt them to my liking.

Image

Homemade Pizza Dough – 4 servings

  • 3 Teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  • 2 cups lukewarm water
  • 3 1/2 cups White Bread Flour
  • 4 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil, plus enough to oil bowl
  • 1 Tablespoon Salt
  1. Dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup of lukewarm water by stirring gently in bowl of electric mixer.
  2. When dissolved  (about 10 minutes) add 1 cup of each of the flours and mix thoroughly.
  3. Continue to mix while adding olive oil and salt. Follow with 1/2 cup of water. Then 1 cup of each flour. Continue to add water and flour in until you are out of both, pausing to allow mixture to come together in between each.
  4. When the dough is soft but not sticky, put dough hook on mixer and mix for 7 minutes on medium. (If not using electric mixer, knead by hand for 10 minutes).
  5. Take dough off hook and form into ball.
  6. Oil a clean bowl and place dough ball in bowl, covering with plastic wrap.
  7. Allow dough to rise for 3 hours until it has doubled in size.
  8. When 3 hours is up, divide dough into 4 even portions and wrap individually if not using immediately. Dough can be frozen for up to 1 month or used from refrigerator within 3 days. (When using the dough, allow to come to room temperature before rolling out)

23 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza Dough

  1. Kim says:

    I love, love, love homemade pizza dough. When the weather is nice and fresh veggies are in season, we head out to our local farmer’s market and load up on good stuff, then come home and throw it on a pizza! We usually make homemade sourdough pizza crust (if you haven’t tried sourdough pizza, you should definitely consider it!). It’s phenomenal. I like the idea of making 4 crusts at once and saving them until you’re ready!

    • saltedplates says:

      That is exactly how I love it too, fresh veggies really make a difference. This winter I have been experimenting with what we get in season now, which has been great but I can’t wait for the first fresh tomatoes of the season. I will have to try the sourdough crust sometime soon. Do you have a recipe?

  2. Okay this sounds easy enough!! I’ve been making our own pizza dough for a while now as well, using the no-knead bread dough (works great too, actually) – I’ll definitely dive this a try! I love the idea that it can be frozen too.

  3. […] 1 pre-made pizza dough […]

  4. […] Homemade Pizza Dough […]

  5. […] 1 premade pizza dough […]

  6. […] premade whole wheat pizza dough (or store […]

  7. […] premade whole wheat pizza dough (or store […]

  8. […] premade whole wheat pizza dough (or store […]

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.