Google+

Summer CSA

11

June 7, 2013 by Casey

Our summer CSA (community supported agriculture) finally started this week. Since finishing our winter CSA in April and being out of town a lot of May that worked fine but I think I will need to find an alternative for next year because 6 weeks without delivery was very hard on me.

I guess saying that I have grown fond of our CSA over the last year would be an understatement. In the summer we use Red Earth Farm which we have been very happy with. My favorite part is that you can customize it. That means every Thursday I can go online and see what will be available and pick our 6 items. They also allow add ons and have fruit shares and cheese shares. Their feta cheese is particularly good.

Being able to customize our order is very important since we are also growing our own veggies. It also makes meal planning a breeze because I know what is coming four days ahead of time and can shop only for the ingredients needed for our meal plan. It also means that if either Clay and I have a craving for something in season we can definitely get it.

The first pick up is always farmers choice however. This week it included a whole ton of green.

Summer CSA Pick Up 1

The item I am most excited about is the Spring Onions. I think I am going to use them in a Panzella salad I somewhat recently pinned. Spring Onions

Next up is the Bok Choy. This was one of our favorite items to receive last year and I am sure it will something we choose often given how much we both enjoy Asian flavors. Bok Choy

Next is the bagge Spinach. I am going to make a lasagna dish as well as pizza with this.  I might also freeze some for smoothies if I get ambitious. I am still not in love with green smoothies but they are growing on me. Spinach

We also received some salad mix that looks very similar to the one we are growing. We’ve already eaten over half of this as it is the most perishable item in the box. Salad Mix

Rounding out the box are Green Leaf & Red Leaf Lettuce. I am most likely going to use these in salad as well but if you have any other ideas please share them! We are going to be eating a ton of salad before our next box comes on Tuesday. Red Leaf LettuceGreen Leaf Lettuce

Do you participate in a CSA? What is your favorite thing you have received so far this year?

11 thoughts on “Summer CSA

  1. Genoa says:

    Being able to customize your CSA must be so nice! I am in love with mine too. It also has good cheeses.

    • saltedplates says:

      It is great. We can get occasional cheeses from ours but I’ve only tried the feta. They come in big hunks so I don’t like to over commit myself to a cheese.

  2. Oh my goodness, I had never heard of CSAs. They sound awesome! I just wish I wasn’t soooo picky…I would totally look into this more seriously if it weren’t for the fact that there are so many freggies I strongly dislike and so few I really enjoy. Although: jealousface on the spring onions!

  3. Tammy says:

    Pretty cool that you get cheese. We can get a basic farmers cheese but it is always as an add-on.

  4. inherchucks says:

    Great haul! I love bok choy. It is one of our favorite veggies around here.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

  5. […] advance so I can plan every morsel I will put into my mouth. Not that I wasn’t happy with our first summer CSA pick up, in fact I surprised my self by finishing the greens before the onions […]

  6. […] of our favorite things to get regularly in our CSA was Bok Choy so I was happy to see it in the first box which was picked by the farmer. I wanted to try something different with it but also needed it to be […]

  7. […] Christine from Thoughts from the End of the World shared some veggie packed Korean Pancakes and Casey and Annie are sure to create culinary masterpieces with their big bunches of Bok Choy.  Thanks to […]

Leave a comment

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.